We are the Pacific Chapter of the Solid Waste Association of North America. As the leading organization in integrated waste resource management in BC and the Yukon, we provide expertise and professional development to practitioners through training, certification, and networking.

More than 3,000 solid waste professionals across North America have become SWANA-certified in one or more of the 7 disciplines:

  • Collection
  • Composting
  • Construction and Demolition (C&D)
  • Recycling
  • Landfill Management
  • Municipal Solid Waste Management
  • Transfer Station

The Pacific Chapter of SWANA currently has more than 200 members from both the public and private sectors.  Members range from landfill operators to site superintendents and landfill managers, from presidents and CEOs of facilities to city engineers, from consultants to managers of infrastructure and engineering departments.  The SWANA Pacific Chapter has an active Board of Directors from the Public and Private Sectors, coordinated by a contracted Chapter Administrator.

Chapter Administrator

The SWANA Pacific Chapter has a contracted Chapter Administrator who provides the chapter with administrative and planning support as well as serving as a first line of contact for any enquiries. The Chapter Administrator is not a member of the Board. Questions about SWANA Pacific Chapter can be directed to the Chapter Administrator via our contact page or info@swanabc.org.

Executive Committee 2018

Mark Watt

President

t: 250.862.2112
e: mwatt56@outlook.com

Nicole Steglich

Vice President

t: 604.606.2719
e: nicole.steglich@vancouver.ca

Deacon Liddy

Treasurer

t: 604.248.3671
e: deacon.liddy@ghd.com

Andrew Marr

Secretary

t: 604.436.6807
e: Andrew.marr@metrovancouver.org

Allen Lynch

Past President & SWANA Canadian Representative

t: 604.209.5098
e: lyncha54@hotmail.com

Karen Storry

International Board Director

t: 604.451.6058
e: karen.storry@metrovancouver.org

SWANA Directors at Large

Farbod Ahmadi Diba

YP Director

t: 604.557.7065
e: farbod@netzerowaste.com

Craig Foster

t: 604.789.8429
e: craigfoster@shaw.ca

Heidi Gerlach

t: 604.825.1403
e: hgerlach@telus.net

Paul Henderson

t: 604.432.6278
e: Paul.Henderson@metrovancouver.org

Scott Hoekstra

t: 250.469.8588
e: shoekstra@kelowna.ca

Calvin Jameson

t: 604.894.6115 ext. 2257
e: calvin.jameson@lilwat.ca

Phillip Kovacs

t: 250.219.0621
e: phillip.kovacs@prrd.bc.ca

Thomas Land

t: 604.276.1202
e: tland@ecowaste.com

Vivian Leung

t: 604.599.8151 ext. 131
e: Vivian.leung@emterra.ca

Faisal Mirza

t: 604.871.6415
e: Faisal.Mirza@vancouver.ca

Tony Sperling

t: 604.986.7723
e: sperling@sperlinghansen.com

Michael Stringer

t: 604.980.9177
e: mandjstringer@shaw.ca

Reinhard Trautmann

t: 250.474.7960
e: rtrautmann@netidea.com

Chris Underwood

t: 604.873.7992
e: chris.underwood@vancouver.ca

Maggie Warren

SWANA Safety Ambassador

t: (250) 741-6165
e: maggie57warren@gmail.com

Wilbert Yang, P. Eng.

t: 604.608.8648
c: 778.870.4493
e: wilbert.yang@tetratech.com

Stewart Young Jr.

t: 250.812.8565
e: stewjr@alpinegroup.ca

Sincere Thanks Extended to Those Leaving During 2017:

  • Lynn Belanger
  • Noelle Chin
  • Alida Kusch
  • Lauren Quan
  • Russ Smith